Highlights

Season

Pride 2018

Fri 17 Aug 2018 – Mon 17 Sep 2018
To celebrate Pride, we’ll be joined by our friends from Sexuality Summer School and Manchester Metropolitan University to...

Next 7 Days

Book now

Film

Jackie Brown (15)

Starts Tue 28 Aug 2018 at 19.50
Elmore Leonard is undoubtedly one of the finest and most prolific of contemporary pulp writers and his novel...
Film

Threads (15)

Starts Thu 30 Aug 2018 at 18.00
Screening as part of the Project and Survive: Nuclear nightmares on the big screen season
Film

Devil in a Blue Dress (15)

Starts Thu 30 Aug 2018 at 20.40
An atmospheric, neo-noir adaptationof Walter Mosley's seminal novel about black private eye Easy Rawlins' uneasy adventures in the...
Film

Mildred Pierce (PG)

Starts Sun 2 Sep 2018 at 13.00
Michael Curtiz blends film noir and melodrama in this passionate story of a self-sacrificing mother who would do...
Film

Bandit Queen (18)

Starts Tue 11 Sep 2018 at 20.15
Based on the life of Phoolan Devi, India’s most feared outlaw, director Shekhar Kapur’s controversial masterwork is a...
Film

Kadvi Hawa (15)

Starts Thu 13 Sep 2018 at 18.15
A cautionary and instructive work about the devastating impact of climate change on the lives of debt ridden...
Film

The Hungry (18)

Starts Sat 15 Sep 2018 at 18.00
This strikingly crafted UK-Indian co-production is a murderous and twisted adaptation of Shakespeare’s Titus Andronicus that stages a...
Film

The Women (U)

Starts Sun 16 Sep 2018 at 13.00
George Cukor’s THE WOMEN is a legendary, acid bitch-fest. Whilst the ladies take lunch they immerse themselves in...
Film

Jai Bhim Comrade (18)

Starts Sun 16 Sep 2018 at 15.10
This extraordinary chronicle and political odyssey of the Dalit (“untouchable”) movement in India is arguably the highpoint to...
Film

Island (CTBA)

Starts Mon 17 Sep 2018 at 18.20
A lyrical, slow cinema description of the temporality and phenomena of dying, this film sensitively witnesses the transition...
Film

Masaan (15)

Starts Tue 18 Sep 2018 at 17.50
An Indo-French co-production and winner of two prizes at the Cannes Film Festival, director Neeraj Ghaywan’s debut feature...
Film

This is England (18)

Starts Sat 22 Sep 2018 at 15.30
Shaun is an 11-year-old struggling after his father's death and with being bullied at school. His life improves...
Film

Billy Liar (PG)

Starts Sun 23 Sep 2018 at 13.10
An undertaker's clerk in a dull Northern town conjures up ever more fantastic, Walter Mitty-like scenarios in order...
Film

Faces Places (12A)

Starts Wed 26 Sep 2018 at 18.10
Agnès Varda and JR have things in common: their passion for images in general and more particularly questioning...
Film

The Big Lebowski (18)

Starts Fri 28 Sep 2018 at 20.30
Jeff “The Dude” Lebowski, an unemployed LA slacker and avid bowler, gets mistakenly involved in a kidnapping scheme...
Film

Tikli and Laxmi Bomb (18)

Starts Sun 30 Sep 2018 at 17.15
This brilliantly nuanced quasi-noir thriller from Aditya Kripalani (adapted from his 2015 novel) depicts the defiant yet tragic...
Film

A Northern Soul (CTBA)

Starts Sat 6 Oct 2018 at 18.20
Following 2015’s Doc/Fest Grand Jury Winner A Syrian Love Story, Sean McAllister returns to his hometown, Hull, as...

Coming soon

Film

Cold War (15)

From Fri 31 Aug
Pawel Pawlikowski follows up Ida with another first-rate monochrome drama told against the backdrop of the Cold War...
Exhibition

David Ogle: Land/Lines

Fri 7 Sep 2018 – Sun 4 Nov 2018
Incorporating drawing, sculpture, installation and new media, David Ogle often works in the ‘grey area’ between different mediums, frequently...
Showcase

Scottee: I Made It

Thu 13 Sep 2018
Artist and weirdo Scottee is celebrating 10 years of making a mess, causing a fuss and getting ideas...
Sold out
Film

Lucky (CTBA)

From Fri 14 Sep
Having outdrank, outsmoked and outlived all of his contemporaries in his off-the-map desert town, fiercely independent 90-year-old atheist...
Film

The Rider (CTBA)

From Fri 21 Sep
Chloé Zhao’s (Songs My Brothers Taught Me) award-winning impressionistic drama casts real-life wrangler Brady Jandreau as a South...