What’s on > Theatre

December’s here and it’s time to start feeling festive! No matter what your age, we have something for everyone – from 1927’s spooky folk jokes in Roots, David Walliams’ cautionary tale The Slightly Annoying Elephant, Le Gateau Chocolat and Johnny Woo’s twisted homage to the classics A Night at the Musicals, and short plays, comedy and drag in The Manchester Project at Christmas, a Christmas night out like no other.

And finally, we’re thrilled to have been able to announce we’re producing a major new musical, Bourgeois & Maurice’s Insane Animals. Tickets have just gone on sale, so book quickly to make the most of early-bird low prices!

Highlights: Theatre

Next 7 Days: Theatre

Book Now: Theatre

Theatre

Sound Cistem

Mon 20 Jan 2020 – Wed 22 Jan 2020
Two transgender performers say 'up yours' to the gender binary and invite you to their radical dance party!
Theatre

Oreo

Thu 23 Jan 2020 – Sat 25 Jan 2020
Tania Camara’s Oreo draws on different experiences of successfully educated black women in European politics and challenges the...
Theatre

Nina at the NIA

Sat 25 Jan 2020
Revisit Hulme’s special history as founding members of the NIA Centre recreate Nina Simone's iconic performance 29 years...
Theatre

Ladybones

Tue 28 Jan 2020 – Wed 29 Jan 2020
Archaeologist Nuala unearths a skeleton and her ordered life starts to unravel. Digging into the mystery of the...
Theatre

2 Clowns, 1 Cup

Thu 30 Jan 2020 – Sat 1 Feb 2020
Ugly Bucket have invited women to dish all the dirty details, and now they invite you to join...
Theatre

Freedom to Move

Fri 31 Jan 2020 – Sat 1 Feb 2020
Through wit, movement and laughter, Freedom to Move examines the funny, intrusive and weird questions asked to people...
Theatre

Little Wimmin

Thu 5 Mar 2020 – Sat 14 Mar 2020
Blurring the boundaries of live art, music, theatre, comedy & dance, Little Wimmin examines how we think about...
Theatre

Not I

Tue 31 Mar 2020 – Thu 2 Apr 2020
Jess Thom takes on Samuel Beckett's short play in a theatrical experience that explores neurodiversity and asks who...
Theatre

Amsterdam

Wed 15 Apr 2020 – Sat 18 Apr 2020
Stories of a devastating past are compellingly reconstructed to try and make sense of the present. Amsterdam is...
Theatre

Double Murder

Wed 13 May 2020 – Sat 16 May 2020
Internationally celebrated choreographer Hofesh Shechter presents a thrilling new double bill of contemporary dance for our times.
Theatre

Art Heist

Tue 19 May 2020 – Fri 22 May 2020
An existential comedy caper about the power of frames and the absurdity of labels. From the team behind...
Theatre

You & I

Tue 2 Jun 2020 – Thu 4 Jun 2020
From award-winning company Casus Circus. An empowering hour of skill and identity celebrating the loving relationship between two...
Theatre

One Woman

Thu 2 Jul 2020 – Sat 4 Jul 2020
One Woman lets you share the transformation of chaos into beauty, through an intense all-senses-on-board ride that goes...