The Elements Trilogy

Made over a period of ten years, Deepa Mehta’s controversial Elements trilogy was a monumental undertaking exploring gender, sexuality, violence and religion through a largely feminist perspective. Beginning with Fire (1996) that examines homosexuality in contemporary India, Mehta went on to confront the horrors of Partition in Earth (1998) and finished with Water (2005) that critiqued religion. Mehta also faced a battle with censors and faced protests when she made Water (2005). The award-winning cast includes Nandita Das, Aamir Khan and Shabana Azmi.

Previously in this season

The Elements Trilogy: Water

The final part of the Elements trilogy is set in  1938 during a time of growing resistance to British rule and deals with the discrimination and ostracism…

Read more

The Elements Trilogy: Fire

Deepa Mehta’s seminal film is a powerful critique of patriarchy and one of the first Indian films to depict a lesbian relationship.

Read more

The Elements Trilogy: Earth

A searing adaptation of Bapsi Sidhwa’s novel ‘Cracking India’  (1991) Deepa Mehta’s second part in the Elements trilogy illustrates how women were victims of Partition.

Read more