Shortlist for Deutsche Börse Photography Prize 2012

The shortlist of artists has now been announced for the Deutsche Börse Photography Prize 2012, and this year’s selection showcases four diverse approaches to photography: They are Pieter Hugo, Rinko Kawauchi, John Stezaker and Christopher Williams.

The £30,000 Deutsche Börse Photography Prize is awarded annually by The Photographer’s Gallery to a living photographer who has made the most significant contribution to photography in Europe over the last year and it can take the form of an exhibition or publication.

This year, Pieter Hugo has been nominated for his publication Permanent Error, published by Prestel in 2011. Rinko Kawauchi is nominated for her publication, Illuminance, published by Kehrer. Christopher Williams and John Stezaker have both been nominated for their respective exhibitions: Williams for showing Kapitalistischer Realismus at Dům umění České Budějovice, Budweis, Czech Republic; and Stezaker at The Whitechapel Gallery, London.

We are especially excited about the John Stezaker nomination, as he is represented by one of our client publishers, Ridinghouse, and we hold  several titles on his work, including the catalogue for his exhibition at the Whitechapel Gallery earlier this year, and for which he has been given the nomination.